Flying Lotus: Only If You Wanna

I have always preferred Flying Lotus’ quieter tracks to his zany upbeat ones. These songs seem to flow on a higher plane while keeping your mind in a zen state. “Only If You Wanna” is one of my favorite tracks from Until the Quiet Comes. It’s a jazzy song with ethereal vocals popping in and out.


Top 10 Music Videos of 2014

Music videos over the years have become a form to be reckoned with. Some are mini-movies while others are complete works of art and  2014 has been a year of both these categories. From living in a dream to dancing for self-love here are the top 10 music videos of 2014.

10. Childish Gambino: Sweatpants

9. Kele: Doubt

8. FKA twigs: Two Weeks

7. A Place to Bury Strangers: Straight

6. Beyonce: 7/11

5.  Real Estate: Crime

4. Childish Gambino: Telegraph Ave (Oakland by Lloyd)

3. Sam Smith: Money on My Mind

2. Flying Lotus: Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)

1. Kendrick Lamar: “i”


Top 10 Album Covers of 2014

There have been many interesting album artwork released this year. Bands and musicians have gone beyond the norm into very creative and visually stunning album covers. From a grotesque body deconstruction to an outstretched hand with a soul hovering above it,  here are the top 10 album covers of 2014.

10. Spoon: They Want My Soul


9. Cloud Nothings: Here and Nowhere Else


8. The Twilight Sad: Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave


7. I Love You But I’ve Chosen Darkness: Dust


6. Cymbals Eat Guitars: Lose


5. FKA Twigs: LP1


4.  Maybeshewill: Fair Youth


3. Interpol: El Pintor


2. Giant Squid: Minoans


1. Flying Lotus: You’re Dead!


Flying Lotus: Tiny Tortures

Flying Lotus first came to my attention last year when friends of mine kept telling me just how amazing his music is. I finally had a chance to check it out and I am really impressed by what he has done. His last album “Unit the Quiet Comes” is a diverse album which is hard to categorize. There is jazz, hip hop, and electronica influences throughout.

One of the best songs on the album is “Tiny Tortures”. It is a downbeat track that gradually descends. The music video features Elijah Wood as a man with one arm whose environment recreates his lost arm. Check it out.

Blog at

Up ↑